Close this search box.

Deadline for Submission for 2020 Maltina Teacher of the Year Extended

Lagos, Nigeria: Wednesday, August 8, 2020. Nigerian Breweries Plc., Nigeria’s foremost brewing company has announced the extension of the deadline for submission of entries for the 2020 Maltina Teacher of the Year.

According to the company’s Corporate Affairs Director, Mrs. Sade Morgan, the deadline for submission of entries has now been extended from August 14 till August 21, 2020.

She further explained that the extension for the submission of entries became necessary based on appeals from various stakeholders to allow more time for teachers to complete their registration process and turn in their entries.

Over the last few weeks, we have received loads of requests particularly from participating teachers and other well-meaning individuals to consider the possibility of extending the entry submission deadline for this year’s edition of the Maltina Teacher of the Year initiative. With current challenges due to the lockdown occasioned by coronavirus pandemic, some of the teachers have complained about the difficulty in getting the necessary supporting documents for the application,” she said.

Morgan, therefore, urged teachers to take advantage of this new window of opportunity as there would be no further shift in the deadline.

To participate, all eligible teachers are invited to log on to the dedicated website ( to either complete the forms online or download the forms, complete, scan and email the completed form to

The Maltina Teacher of the Year, the brainchild of Nigerian Breweries Plc. – Felix Ohiwerei Education Trust Fund is designed to identify, showcase, and reward exceptional teachers in Nigeria.

Prizes to be won for this year’s Maltina Teacher of the Year initiative includes a total cash prize of N6.5 million, capacity training, and a computer lab or block of classrooms built at the school where the winning teacher teaches.

First and second runners up will get a cash prize of N1m and N750, 000 cash prize respectively while each state champion will receive a cash reward of N500, 000 each.

Since inception, the Maltina Teacher of the Year initiative has produced four winners – Rose Nkemdilim Obi, Anambra (2015); Imoh Essien, Akwa Ibom (2016); Felix Ariguzo, Delta State (2017), Olasunkanmi Opeifa, FCT (2018) and Ezem Collins(2109).

About Nigerian Breweries PLC:
A member of the HEINEKEN Group, Nigerian Breweries Plc is the pioneer and largest brewing company in Nigeria. Incorporated in 1946 as "Nigerian Brewery Limited", the company made history in June 1949 when the first bottle of STAR lager beer rolled out of its Lagos brewery bottling line. Today, it has a rich portfolio of 19 high-quality brands (such as Heineken, Desperados, Maltina, Life, Amstel Malta, Gulder, Fayrouz and Legend) produced from 9 breweries and 2 malting plants which are distributed nationwide. Nigerian Breweries is also a recipient of several awards and recognition in other areas of its operations including product quality, marketing excellence, productivity and innovation, health and safety, corporate social responsibility, and sustainability. To learn more, visit the Nigerian Breweries website:



Sade Morgan
Corporate Affairs Director



We use cookies to deliver the best possible experience on our website. To learn more, visit our PRIVACY POLICY. By continuing to use this site or closing this box, you consent to our use of cookies. VIEW COOKIE POLICY